Liz Watson

Financial Analyst

Liz has been at CleanSlate for about three years. She began in a part-time capacity as a Financial Analyst, and a little over 2 years ago came on full-time and really took on the role she has today. Outside of work, Liz spends her time working out and with family, ending most days loading a tee and throwing batting practice at ProX in Westfield to her youngest daughter. 

Q: What is your role at CleanSlate?
A: My role has evolved significantly over my 3 years at CleanSlate. I began in a part-time
capacity as a Financial Analyst, focusing on Accounts Receivable and some occasional
other tasks for our controller. A little over 2 years ago I came on full-time and really
took on the role that I have today. That role involves all aspects of project and
assignment setup, the billing and invoicing for our Services practice, managing our
contractors’ hours and billing and providing data points to our leadership team so they
can use that information to make decisions on the day to day and long-term operations
of the company.

Q: Can you give a brief background on your career history?
A: I began my career as a consultant and developer for Crowe Chizek in South Bend. After
moving to Indianapolis, I did some technical writing as a contractor before ultimately
deciding to stay home to raise our children. Then in 2013, my husband and I opened
our first Jersey Mike’s subs franchise, followed shortly thereafter by our second
location. I ran the day-to-day operations for both stores as well as all the back-office
tasks (human resources, bills, payroll, etc.) After 4 years of operating our stores, we sold
them in 2017 and I took some time off before I began with CleanSlate in 2018.

Q: What do you like about working at CleanSlate?
A: The people and the flexibility. CleanSlate provides a wonderful, flexible environment
where I feel like I can give 100% to both my work life and family life without having to
compromise either one. There has never been a group of people I have enjoyed
working with more than my coworkers at CleanSlate. They are smart, creative,
hardworking and make work fun and enjoyable.

Q: What projects are you currently working on?
A: No specific projects currently but looking to streamline some reporting processes even
more this year to be able to provide the leadership team with even better data to use in
their planning and day to day operations.

Q: What skills are you currently utilizing in your role?
A: My organization skills have really helped me to streamline the invoicing process and be
able to conduct our month end closeout more efficiently and my technical skills working
within Salesforce and utilizing some previous experience with report building.

Q: What teams are you currently working on?
A: I work primarily on the Administration/Finance team but cross over to the sales and
delivery teams as well providing answers to our salespeople and project managers on
current projects and future opportunities they may be working on.

Q: What gets you excited about your everyday work?
A: Even though I have a lot of the same tasks that I do on a regular basis, there is always
something new to tackle as well. I like being able to problem solve and provide
answers to the team and look for ways to make my processes more efficient.

Q: What are you looking forward to at CleanSlate and in your career?
A: I just want to continue to help CleanSlate grow and be able to provide our leadership
team with even better data as efficiently as possible.

Q: What are some non work-related activities that you do in your day-to-day? (this probably looks a little bit different than it did pre-covid)?
A: I always make time to get a workout in. It makes me a better employee, wife and
mother when I am taking care of myself physically and mentally. Usually, my day ends
with me loading a tee and throwing batting practice at ProX in Westfield to my youngest
daughter.

Q: What are one or two long-term goals you have?
A: As of right now I am happy with where my career is. I feel like I have a great balance
that has me feeling fulfilled professionally but also present for my family especially as
we enter these last 5 years of having children at home with us.

Q: Any fun facts about yourself, or anything else you’d like to share?
A: I am an identical twin. We have the same college degree (CIS from IU). Was born and
grew up in New Jersey before moving to Indiana at age 11. All these years later, I still
miss the food and I make Casey bring bagels back every time he flies out there for work.
Took our youngest to the 2019 Women’s College World Series which has always been
one of my bucket list items. It did not disappoint. Can’t wait to do it again.

Share This